States Affected by COVID-19 Coronavirus in the US

    The new coronavirus has affected 14 people in the United States so far.


    The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has been monitoring the number of cases affected by the new coronavirus in the United States.

    Public health officials have been closely monitoring for new cases in the nation, as the coronavirus, which is now officially called COVID-19, continues to spread in China.

    In China, the virus has sickened more than 59,800 and killed 1,367 people so far.

    In the United States, 14 cases of the new coronavirus have been confirmed so far. The states that have reported the cases are:

    • California – 8
    • Illinois – 2
    • Washington state – 1
    • Arizona – 1
    • Massachusetts – 1
    • Wisconsin – 1

    States had submitted over 400 samples for testing as of February 12. Of which, 14 have come back positive for the new virus.

    A 30-year-old man in Washington, who was reported to have COVID-19, has been released from the hospital.

    The two patients in Chicago have also been released from the hospital.

    Chinese officials are leaving no stone unturned in combating the outbreak, as more and more cases are diagnosed daily.

    Japan has reported 247 confirmed cases of COVID-19 so far, while Hong Kong and Singapore share 50 each. Other nations include Thailand, South Korea, Malaysia, Taiwan, Vietnam, Germany, Australia, France, and the United Kingdom, among others.

    The new coronavirus has affected 28 nations, with more than 99 percent of cases diagnosed in China. Earlier this week, the WHO officially gave the name COVID-19 for the disease caused by the new coronavirus, and not for the virus itself.